• Welcome to the Checkmate Community Forums forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access to our other FREE features.
    By joining our free community you will be able to:

» Interact with over 10,000 Checkmate Fanatics from around the world!
    » Post topics and messages
    » Post and view photos
    » Communicate privately with other members
    » Access our extensive gallery of old Checkmate brochures located in our Media Gallery
    » Browse the various pictures in our Checkmate photo gallery

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support by clicking here or by using the"contact us" link at the bottom of the page.

No power

Jim4553

Hey guys I'm new to the world of outboards I have a 200 horsepower Mercury V6 I think it's a 1987 I checked the battery the battery is good I check the connections to the starter I'm getting power to the starter but it's just dead it's not doing anything please help I have no manual for this motor..

Check all of the ground connections, many times this is the problem. I'm guessing we have a no start condition here? You turn the key to start and no crank? Did this starter used to work? What kind of electrical tester do you have handy? Oh yeah, what kind of Checkmate is the black motor hanging on the back of?

I checked the battery the battery is good I check the connections to the starter I'm getting power to the starter but it's just dead...
Did you 'load test' the battery or just check voltage across the terminals? Batteries are weird creatures that will sometimes short out internally when a load is placed upon them.