• Welcome to the Checkmate Community Forums forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access to our other FREE features.
    By joining our free community you will be able to:

» Interact with over 10,000 Checkmate Fanatics from around the world!
    » Post topics and messages
    » Post and view photos
    » Communicate privately with other members
    » Access our extensive gallery of old Checkmate brochures located in our Media Gallery
    » Browse the various pictures in our Checkmate photo gallery

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support by clicking here or by using the"contact us" link at the bottom of the page.

prop size

paul colley

i have a 1996 checmate diplomat 17' with a 90 hp evinrude V-4. THE PROP ON IT NOW IS A 13 1/4 BY 17.
With this prop on, my boat went just under 40 mph. i also have a 12 3/4 a 23 prop. how much more speed, if any would this second prop give me?

i have a 1996 checmate diplomat 17' with a 90 hp evinrude V-4. THE PROP ON IT NOW IS A 13 1/4 BY 17.
With this prop on, my boat went just under 40 mph. i also have a 12 3/4 a 23 prop. how much more speed, if any would this second prop give me?

Hard to tell, it really depends on the engine( if it will turn it and stay in the rpm range) and the prop. Has the right properties for the boat. Bow lift ect.
I say bolt it on and run it.

Hi Paul: